Become a Member | Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Board of Directors

The Michigan Recreation and Park Association (mParks) Board of Directors is responsible for leading and governing our Association. Of its seven members, five are elected by the membership and two are appointed by the President upon approval of the Board. The Chief Executive Officer for the organization serves as an ex-officio member of the Board. Board members participate in 4-6 in-person meetings per year and interim conference calls as needed.

Board roles & Responsibilities

  • Determining the Association’s mission and purpose.
  • Ensuring effective long-term strategic planning exists to assure the Association remains relevant.
  • Ensuring adequate resources and internal controls exist for safeguarding the Association’s assets.
  • Determining, monitoring, and strengthening the Association’s programs/services, with attention to forecasting future needs of members and developing programs to address those needs.
  • Enhancing the image and public standing of the Association.
  • Enhancing the image and public standing of the parks and recreation industry.
  • Ensuring legal and ethical integrity and maintaining accountability.
  • Selecting, supporting, and assessing the performance of the Chief Executive Officer.



President - Brett Kaschinske

Lansing Parks & Recreation
200 N. Foster
Lansing, MI 48912

President Elect - Jon LaFever

(2nd of 2-year term)
Recreation & Facilities Supervisor
Canton Leisure Services
46000 Summit Parkway
Canton, MI 48188

Past President - Kendall Klingelsmith, CPRP

Petoskey, City of
101 East Lake St.
Petoskey MI 49770


Secretary / Treasurer - Eric Sheffer

(1st of 2-year term)
Penchura, LLC
889 Old US-23
Brighton, MI 48114

Director at Large - Ryan Longoria

(2nd of 2-year term)
Mt. Pleasant Parks & Recreation
320 W. Broadway
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858

Director at Large - Laura Mortier

(1st of 2-year term)
Recreation Specialist
Canton Leisure Services
46000 Summit Parkway
Canton, MI 48188


Presidential Appointment- Placemaking
Arnold Weinfeld

(1-year term)
Director, Urban Policy Initiatives
University Outreach & Engagment
Michigan State University
219 S. Harrison Rd., Room 93
East Lansing, MI 48824

Presidential Appointment - Health & Wellness
Myra M. Tetteh

(1-year term)
University of Michigan School of Public Health
430 Clair Pointe Woods Drive
Detroit MI 48215