mParks Board of Directors

Overview of the Board

The Michigan Recreation and Park Association (mParks) Board of Directors consists of seven (7) members. Five are elected by the membership and two (2) are appointed by the President upon approval of the Board. The Executive Director for the organization serves as an ex-officio member of the Board. There are between four and six (4-6) in-person meetings per year and interim conference calls as needed.

2017/2018 mParks Board of Directors Slate

This is your official slatefor the 2017-2018 mParks Board of Directors. To review the biographies of the candidates, click on their name below. 

To vote you must click on the link sent Monday, June 19 via email or log in to the mParks Member Database and select Elections. If you need assistance with log in, please contact the mParks office: 517.485.9888. Ballots are due no later than 5pm, Friday, July 7, 2017.


 LaTricia Gunnells, Director, City of Westland
 Jonathan LaFever, Deputy Director, Canton Leisure Services
 David Marquardt, Director, City of Grand Rapids Department of Parks & Recreation

Board Member at Large: 

 Patricia Johns, Barry County Board Member, Individual Professional Member 
 Dawn Medici, Recreation Specialist, Oxford Township Parks & Recreation 
 Laura Mortier, Recreation Specialist, Canton Leisure Services


Eric Sheffer, President, Penchura, LLC

Call for Candidates - 2017/2018 mParks Board of Directors

The mParks Nominating Committee is now accepting candidates for the 2017/2018 Board of Directors for the following positions:

President Elect

  • Term of office for President Elect begins in August, 2017.
  • The successful candidate will assume the office of President in August, 2018.
  • The term will continue in an ex-officio capacity as immediate Past President for one year beginning in August, 2019.
  • Duties of this position include the selection of the 2019 Conference Chair, serving in the absence of the President, working with the Board to establish priorities for the Association, and fiscal oversight of the Association.


  • The two-year term begins in August, 2017 and continues through August, 2019
  • This position serves as chair of the Ways and Means Committee
  • This officer shall be responsible for all official notices and the editing of all minutes from the meetings of the mParks Board of Directors.

Board Member at Large

  • The two-year term begins in August, 2017 and continues through August, 2019
  • Duties of this position include working with the Board of Directors to establish priorities for the Association, fiscal oversight, and representation of the membership at large.

Election Timeline:

  • By May 26, 2017, the Nominating committee will present a slate to the Secretary/Treasurer for approval. 
  • Interested candidates on the initial slate must complete a Candidate Profile Form (available at and submit it no later than May 26, 2017.
  • On May 31, 2017, the membership will be notified of the proposed slate with a final call for candidates.  
  • Additional candidates may be placed on the slate until June 16, 2017 with a petition of at least 15 members in good standing and a completed Candidate Profile Form.  Nominating petitions will be available beginning May 26, 2017 at Note: Only those candidates not on the original slate require nominating petitions.)
  • On Monday, June 19, 2017, the Secretary/Treasurer shall authorize the distribution of the official ballot to the eligible voting members. Elections will close at 5 p.m. on July 7, 2017. The official announcement of election results will be on/or before July 12, 2017.


Persons eligible for office on the mParks Board include Professional, Vendor, and Affiliate Member categories.

Nominating Committee members: 

Past President Sean Fletcher, Secretary/Treasurer Eric Sheffer, and Board Members at Large Ryan Longoria and Jon LaFever. 

If you have any questions or need any additional information, please e-mail