mParks Board of Directors

The Michigan Recreation and Park Association (mParks) Board of Directors is responsible for leading and governing our Association. Of its seven members, five are elected by the membership and two are appointed by the President upon approval of the Board. The Chief Executive Officer for the organization serves as an ex-officio member of the Board. Board members participate in 4-6 in-person meetings per year and interim conference calls as needed.

2017/2018 mParks Board of Directors 

President - Brett Kaschinske
Director
Lansing Parks & Recreation
200 N. Foster
Lansing, MI 48912
517.483.4042
brett.kaschinske@lansingmi.gov 
  President Elect - Jon LaFever
(2nd of 2-year term)
Recreation & Facilities Supervisor
Canton Leisure Services
46000 Summit Parkway
Canton, MI  48188
734.394.5460
jlafever@canton-mi.org

Past President - Clay Summers, CPRP
Director
Eaton County Parks & Recreation
133 Fitzgerald Park Drive
Grand Ledge, MI  48837
517.627.7351
csummers@eatoncounty.org

Secretary / Treasurer - Eric Sheffer
(1st of 2-year term)
Owner
Penchura, LLC
889 Old US-23
Brighton, MI  48114
810.229.6245
eric@penchura.com

Director at Large - Ryan Longoria
(2nd of 2-year term)
Director
Mt. Pleasant Parks & Recreation
320 W. Broadway
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858
989.779.5329
rlongoria@mt-pleasant.org
Director at Large - Laura Mortier
(1st of 2-year term)
Recreation Specialist
Canton Leisure Services
46000 Summit Parkway
Canton, MI  48188
734.394.5460
lmortier@canton-mi.org

Presidential Appointment
Placemaking
Arnold Weinfeld

(1-year term)
Director, Urban Policy Initiatives 
University Outreach & Engagment
Michigan State University
219 S. Harrison Rd., Room 93
East Lansing, MI  48824
517.230.8071
weinfel8@msu.edu

Presidential Appointment
Health & Wellness
Myra M. Tetteh

(1-year term)
University of Michigan School of Public Health
430 Clair Pointe Woods Drive
Detroit MI 48215
313.402.7822

mtetteh@umich.edu