mParks Board of Directors

The Michigan Recreation and Park Association (mParks) Board of Directors is responsible for leading and governing our Association. Of its seven members, five are elected by the membership and two are appointed by the President upon approval of the Board. The Chief Executive Officer for the organization serves as an ex-officio member of the Board. Board members participate in 4-6 in-person meetings per year and interim conference calls as needed.

 


President - Clay Summers, CPRP
Director
Eaton County Parks & Recreation
133 Fitzgerald Park Drive
Grand Ledge, MI  48837
517.627.7351
csummers@eatoncounty.org
  President Elect - Brett Kaschinske
Director
Lansing Parks & Recreation
200 N. Foster
Lansing, MI 48912
517.483.4042
brett.kaschinske@lansingmi.gov 
Past President - Sean Fletcher, CPRP
Director
Kalamazoo Parks & Recreation
251 Mills St.
Kalamazoo, MI  49048
269.337.8191
fletchers@kalamazoocity.org

Secretary / Treasurer - Eric Sheffer
(2nd of 2-year term)
Owner
Penchura, LLC
889 Old US-23
Brighton, MI  48114
810.229.6245
eric@penchura.com

Director at Large - Ryan Longoria
(1st of 2-year term)
Director
Mt. Pleasant Parks & Recreation
320 W. Broadway
Mt. Pleasant, MI 48858
989.779.5329
rlongoria@mt-pleasant.org

Director at Large - Jon LaFever
(2nd of 2-year term)
Recreation & Facilities Supervisor
Canton Leisure Services
46000 Summit Parkway
Canton, MI  48188
734.394.5460
jlafever@canton-mi.org

Presidential Appointment
Placemaking
Arnold Weinfeld

(1-year term)
Director, Urban Policy Initiatives 
University Outreach & Engagment
Michigan State University
219 S. Harrison Rd., Room 93
East Lansing, MI  48824
517.230.8071
weinfel8@msu.edu

Presidential Appointment
Health & Wellness
Nicholas Mukthar

(1-year term)
Founder & CEO
Healthy Detroit
18100 Meyers Road
Detroit, MI 48235
313.224.1123
nicholas@healthydetroit.org